GRAVITY tops Utah Films Critics 2013 awards | Buzz Blog
We need your help.

Newspapers and media companies nationwide are closing or suffering mass layoffs since the coronavirus impacted all of us starting in March. City Weekly's entire existence is directly tied to people getting together in groups--in clubs, restaurants, and at concerts and events--which are the industries most affected by new coronavirus regulations.

Our industry is not healthy. Yet, City Weekly has continued publishing thanks to the generosity of readers like you. Utah needs independent journalism more than ever, and we're asking for your continued support of our editorial voice. We are fighting for you and all the people and businesses hardest hit by this pandemic.

You can help by making a one-time or recurring donation on, which directs you to our Galena Fund 501(c)(3) non-profit, a resource dedicated to help fund local journalism. It is never too late. It is never too little. Thank you. DONATE

GRAVITY tops Utah Films Critics 2013 awards


The Utah Film Critics Association selected Gravity as Best Picture of 2013, one of three awards won by the hit science-fiction thriller. ---

The film also won Best Directing honors for Alfonso Cuarón, and Best Cinematography for Emmanuel Lubezki in voting held Dec. 19. Full list of winners follows.

Best Picture: Gravity
(runner-up: 12 Years A Slave)

Best Achievement in Directing: Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
(runner-up: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave)

Best Lead Performance by an Actor: Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
(runner-up: Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Lead Performance by an Actress: Adele Exarchopoulos, Blue is the Warmest Color
(runners-up: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine & Sandra Bullock, Gravity)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actor: Bill Nighy, About Time
(runner-up: Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave)

Best Supporting Performance by an Actress: Scarlett Johansson, Her
(runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle)

Best Original Screenplay: Simon Pegg & Edgar Wright, The World’s End
(runner-up: Nat Faxon & Jim Rash, The Way Way Back)

Best Adapted Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke, Before Midnight
(runner-up: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity
(runner-up: Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Documentary Feature: The Act of Killing
(runner-up: Blackfish)

Best Non-English Language Feature: Blue Is the Warmest Color
(runner-up: The Past)

Best Animated Feature: Frozen
(runners-up: From Up on Poppy Hill & The Wind Rises)