Sundance Film Festival 2022 Announces Award Winners | Buzz Blog
Support the Free Press.
Facts matter. Truth matters. Journalism matters.
Salt Lake City Weekly has been Utah's source of independent news and in-depth journalism since 1984.
Donate today to ensure the legacy continues.

Sundance Film Festival 2022 Announces Award Winners

Award-winner screenings available this weekend


The 2022 Sundance Film Festival began winding down Friday with the announcement of winners in juried and audience-vote categories. The wide-ranging list included only two multiple-award winners: the documentary Navalny (pictured), which won both the U.S. Documentary Audience Award and the overall Festival Favorite Audience Award; and Framing Agnes, which took the NEXT category's Innovator Award and Audience Award. The U.S. Dramatic Competition Grand Jury Prize went to Nanny, while the U.S. Documentary Competition Grand Jury Prize was won by The Exiles.

The full list of winners follows. Special virtual screenings of award-winners will take place Saturday, Jan. 29 and Sunday, Jan. 30, with tickets available now for individual screenings and a Festival Winners Package of eight films at  Our reviews of festival films are also still available on the Buzz Blog.

Festival Favorite Audience Award: Navalny
U.S. Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: Nanny
U.S. Dramatic Audience Award: Cha Cha Real Smooth
U.S. Dramatic Directing Award: Jamie Dack, Palm Trees and Power Lines
U.S. Dramatic Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: K.D. Dávila, Emergency
U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize, Ensemble Cast: 892
U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize, Uncompromising Artistic Vision: Bradley Rust Gray, blood
U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prize: The Exiles
U.S. Documentary Audience Award: Navalny
U.S. Documentary Directing Award: Reid Davenport, I Didn't See You There
U.S. Documentary Editing Award: Erin Casper & Jocelyne Chaput, Fire of Love
U.S. Documentary Special Jury Prize, Creative Vision: Descendant
U.S. Documentary Special Jury Prize, Impact for Change: Aftershock
World Cinema Documentary Grand Jury Prize: All That Breathes
World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: The Territory
World Cinema Documentary Directing Award: Simon Lereng Wilmont, A House Made of Splinters
World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Prize, Verité Filmmaking: Midwives
World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award, Documentary Craft: The Territory
World Cinema Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: Utama
World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: Girl Picture
World Cinema Dramatic Competition Directing Award: Maryna Er Gorbach, Klondike
World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award, Acting: Teresa Sánchez, Dos Estaciones
World Cinema Dramatic Special Jury Award for Innovative Spirit: Leonor Will Never Die
NEXT Audience Award: Framing Agnes
NEXT Innovator Award: Framing Agnes
Short Film Grand Jury Prize: The Headhunter's Daughter
Short Film Jury Award, U.S. Fiction: If I Go Will They Miss Me
Short Film Jury Award, International Fiction: Warsha
Short Film Jury Award, Nonfiction: Displaced
Short Film Jury Award, Animation: Night Bus
Short Film Special Jury Award, Ensemble Cast: A Wild Patience Has Taken Me Here
Short Film Special Jury Award, Screenwriting:  Sara Driver Lewie Kloster & Noah Kloster, Stranger Than Rotterdam with Sara Driver
Alfred P. Sloan Award for Outstanding Film Focusing on Science or Technology: Kogonada, After Yang